Gadgets & TechnologySocial Media / Viral

Facebook and Twitter launches new features to make your profile safe

TWITTER

Twitter is making it easy for users to control their tweets and avoid unwanted replies. Starting Wednesday, select Twitter  users will be able to control who can respond to their tweets and who can’t. From now on, before every tweet, you’ll see three options: everyone, only people you follow and only people you mention. This one is quite similar to Facebook’s custom option for posts that allows users to select who can see their post and who can’t. The options will allow you to limit your tweet to a specific group of people and keep unwanted replies away. Everyone will be able to see these conversations though.

One of the biggest problems on Twitter is that anyone and everyone can reply or write their opinion on your tweet, including people you don’t follow or who don’t follow you. This often creates tension and argument on the platform and that makes it hard to have a meaningful conversation. The new limit reply feature will keep unnecessary tweets away and make conversations on the platform more meaningful than ever before.

FACEBOOK

Facebook has introduced a new feature that lets users lock their profiles, preventing anyone not friends with them from seeing any photos or posts shared on the page, or expanding the profile picture. Though aimed at ensuring the safety of women users, even men will be able to opt for the locked profile feature. The feature will roll out to all users India over the course of the next week.

Facebook Product Manager Roxna Irani said the feature, which comes as a successor of the profile picture guard, has taken into account feedback from users. “We started first with the profile, because that was the picture that women were most nervous about being downloaded and shared. And so that’s when we first launched profile picture guard. And then over time, we realised it extends beyond the current profile picture to other photos as well,” Irani said over a video call, underlining how the new feature has been the culmination of a “multi-year journey”.

Once this feature is activated, users will not be able to post publicly. A pop up will appear reminding the user that the profile is locked. A public post will be possible only once the profile is unlocked again. Users can still be tagged on other people’s posts, but these will not appear on the timeline of the user till they allow it.

Ankhi Das, Public Policy Director, Facebook -India, South & Central Asia, said Facebook has a “multi-pronged approach in terms of looking at having the right policies and enforcing them”. She said the social network has worked to ensure there is enough community education in terms of the tools that help users, secure their privacy, and protect themselves.

She said Facebook’s partnerships with the civil society organisations work as an excellent input factor in terms of research at the product and programmatic levels. Das underlined how photos safety was an important factor when it comes to online access for women, especially in South Asia where women are 51% less likely to use mobile internet.

 

Follow Us
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: